View Full Version : Marshall Islands - General

25th April 2009, 09:41 PM
The Marshall Islands, officially the Republic of the Marshall Islands (RMI), is a Micronesian nation of atolls and islands in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, just west of the International Date Line and just north of the Equator. This nation of roughly 60,000 persons is located north of Nauru and Kiribati, east of the Federated States of Micronesia, and south of the U.S. territory of Wake Island.

The country consists of 29 atolls and 5 isolated islands. The most important atolls and islands form two groups: the Ratak Chain and the Ralik Chain (meaning "sunrise" and "sunset" chains).

The climate is hot and humid, with a wet season from May to November. The islands very rarely suffer from typhoons. Instead, many Pacific typhoons start in the Marshall Islands region and grow stronger as they move west toward the Mariana Islands and the Philippines. The capital, Majuro, is occaionally hit by westerlies, which because of the fetch and the position of the mooring fields, can cause 'discomfort'.

First landfall must be made at an official Port of Entry. As a courtesy, before arriving in the Marshall Islands, yachts should notify Customs and Immigration at least 72 hours in advance by emailing mhcustoms@ntamar.net or bbilimon@hotmail.com, giving relevant details such as boat name, size, and number of people on board. On arrival, skippers should attempt to raise the port captain on VHF Channel 16.

It is also recommended skippers contact the "yacht fleet" on VHF Channel 68. A member of the fleet will contact the officials, if contact has not already been made.

Ports of entry:
* Majuro (Port of entry)
* Ebeye Island (Kwajalein) (Port of entry)

The Marshall Islands on the World Cruising Wiki - HERE (http://www.cruiserlog.com/wiki/index.php?title=Marshall_Islands)